Philosophy of AA:

a Drunk and Some Opinions

In Gratitude…..

Now is a special time for me. Summer is coming to a close, fall is approaching, and so is ROTATION!

It kills me to have summer end, but every other year on opposite years, Alcoholics Anonymous rotates. In and of itself, that’s not so special, but for most of the really active AA members, now is the time that they are looking to the future of what they want to do in service for the next few years.

If this sounds totally foreign to you, no problem. I was a member of AA for quite a while before I really became “plugged in” to AA. Once that happened though, I would never turn back.

What happened for me is that I spent my early days in AA going to meetings and talking about how grateful I was for Alcoholics Anonymous. Many others were doing the same thing. So much so, that it almost seemed like finding new and catchy ways of expressing one’s gratitude for sobriety and Alcoholics Anonymous was the focus. While there’s nothing wrong with that, the principles of AA taught me that gratitude is best expressed by my actions, not my mouth. I noticed that when I did something nice, or went out of my way for someone, the people who showed me their thanks were so much more appealing than the people who acted happy and said thank you.

My time in AA was actually rather tumultuous for a while as I wrestled with several questions about life and AA. I was getting bored with AA and didn’t know what to do. I’d read just about everything out there on the subject and felt that I knew everything I needed to stay sober and happy, but I was growing restless. Then, against my desires, I was elected as my home groups General Service Representative (GSR). The prior GSR didn’t do his job at all and made up some catchy excuses as to why he didn’t fulfill his commitment to the group. He glamorized stories about how district meetings were just crabby people arguing about inane AA matters. So I was willing to do what I was asked, but I WAS NOT excited about stepping into this realm of AA after what he said.

What I found was that I was stepping into the most informed, spiritual, humble and grateful set of AA members that I had ever encountered. In my “AA circles,” I’d met hundreds of people that talked gratitude, now I was with those who ACTED GRATITUDE. In regular meetings, I’d met people who often times gave great reasons as to why they couldn’t sacrifice their time for an AA request, now I was amongst those who really made tremendous sacrifices of their own time to give back to this wonderful fellowship.

Ever since getting involved, I’ve tried to be an observer in Alcoholics Anonymous. I’ve watched group consciences drag on a bit long and some members get up and slowly walk out of the room, silently voicing to the group that they had sacrificed enough. When that happens, I think about the Class A (non-alcoholic) trustees of our fellowship that attend a week long general service conference and four, 5 day “board weekends” to keep our fellowship strong. Group members talk of owing their lives to the program and can’t spend an hour, but these non-alcoholics give nearly 1 month out of a year to us. All throughout the service structure we can observe the people who truly give back and sustain our fellowship.

So now, in roughly half of the areas in Alcoholics Anonymous, the process of rotation is occuring. Now is the time to get involved. For me, it was the best thing I had ever done (without knowing it at the time) in AA. It has impacted my membership in AA and every other aspect of my life. Its made me a better person.

Today, for various reasons, stepping back a bit from really active service was a necessity. Life started getting too big. Fortunately there are still jobs in AA that can be done that don’t require quite as much. We give when and where we can.

Good luck getting “Plugged In” to AA!

October 11, 2010 - Posted by | Legacy of Service

No comments yet.

Leave a comment